No Pressure

Come take a walk with me.

Darling, take my hand as we

walk along the beach.

 

Listen to the waves of the rolling sea.

They are unsettled like me.

With each foot print I think

I’m beginning to lose my nerve.

 

Look at the glimmering sun.

It’s beauty pales, when compared

to you.

 

Oh, how do I put this into words?

Would you be hurt if I was to go away?

Do you really want me to stay?

 

How could you say

“If you leave, then don’t come back.”

 

I think it’s beginning to rain.

I watch each droplet get lost in your hair.

Remind me again, what were we fighting about?

 

Your laughter is the most beautiful

sound I’ve ever heard.

Come dance in this down pour

with me.

 

I’ve missed days like this.

Yes, even with the fighting.

Shall we continue our walk?

 

I take my beloved by the hand

and we twirl around and around

once last time in the fading rain.

 

The wind comes alive

and usher’s us closer.

I now have no doubt in

what I should do.

 

I release my hold of your waist.

I take hold of your hand, as I

take a bended knee.

 

This may come as a surprise to you,

but I’ve actually planned everything that

happened today.

Oh, except the rain.

 

I pull my hands from my pocket

to expose what I’ve been hiding.

I have but one more question…

 

“Will You Marry Me?” I shout loudly.

I had to throw you off somehow

and by the look on your face, I must’ve.

 

Leave a Reply

