Hosanna: My Cornerstone

I was dead until you breathed new life into me.

Your love has become,

my nectar of immortality.

 

After drinking from your cup,

My eyes are open to all that I was

blind to.

 

I see now that you are the way.

The one true path,

that I shall choose to walk from.

 

My heart was slowly dying,

being ground into many fine pieces of dust.

I decided to take a handful,

and allow it to scatter in the air.

 

That is until you found me so low one day.

You gave me your hand and pulled me

from the ground.

 

I was so thankful to lean on you, so that I could walk.

You took the pieces of my heart into your hands,

and began making it whole again.

It was like watching sand become a rock.

 

How was it possible for me to be worthy

of such a miracle?

 

You smiled and handed it back to me,

said that I should keep it safe this time.

Silly me,

I thought you meant that I should keep

it locked  away from everyone.

 

In time, I’ve come to understand your wisdom.

You can love and still be strong.

 

Love wasn’t meant to make you weak.

Love wasn’t meant to make you feel sorrow.

Love wasn’t meant to take you from yourself.

Love wasn’t meant to make you gullible.

 

Instead,

It is the hope that keeps you from

falling into the darkness.

It brings peace inside your heart.

It teaches you compassion.

It makes you selfless.

It gives you purpose.

 

The day I took your hand was a blessing,

and I have been thankful ever since.

For you, I was waiting all my life.

 

You rescued me from all my lonely nights.

You removed the scars from my heart,

and showed me how to resurrect my love.

 

You banished the darkness,

creating the stars to guide  me whenever I lose me way.

I fall to your feet now,

because now I know that you are

my cornerstone and the reason for everything.

Leave a Reply

